A Lesson From My Piano Teacher That Changed My Life (And How It Can Change Yours Too)

Have you ever been good at something? I hope you have. Have you ever been exceptionally good at something? I hope this applies to you as well. The purpose of me writing this is because I never want you to doubt yourself and your abilities again. Right now you have doubts. Everyone does. If I told you that you have every right and every opportunity to change the world, have the healthiest and most loving relationships, be in the best shape of your life, experience true freedom from financial obligations and stress, and operate on time that YOU manage, would you doubt me? Naturally, the big whopping feats, the monster accomplishments, and super human skills we all want seem unobtainable. However I want you to look at what you’re good at today; what you own, what you completely dominate, and what you’re confident about. If you don’t have a reference like this, you need to dig deep. Einstein, one of the greatest geniuses to ever live said, “everyone is a genius at something”. Own your skills, own your abilities because they are yours. You did not arrive at your skill or level from mere accident, coincidence, or luck. No, you got where you are exactly how everyone else did. There is no substitute, no shortcuts, nor elixir that brings you to anything worth achieving. No one has the magical item. If they did, it would be the hottest selling product on the shelves today. It just does not exist, yet it is easy to sit back and act like it does; as if the hard work and effort that it takes to get colossal amounts of success come from mythical nothingness and is waved by wand like some fairy tale. I will tell you something mind blowing. We live in the real world, the one where you can make larger than life goals and have them reached. Take my piano teacher. I took lessons for five years under a master pianist named Jeremy. I never knew how getting forced by my parents to sit on an uncomfortable wooden chair every week in front of black and white keys would mark the beginning of my journey to success. If you’ve ever touched a piano or fiddled around, you know simple tunes can be played by ear with one hand. String together a couple of notes and you have, “Mary Had A Little Lamb”. Play around a bit more and you will manage to compose, “Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star” and so on. Isolating one hand presents a mild challenge and it is nothing terribly difficult when you run through the melody to the point of mindless confidence. Playing piano with two hands, however, is an entirely different and phenomenally difficult beast. Playing piano with two hands is the easiest way to demonstrate that humans are not programmed to multitask. The timing and the rhythms of one hand actively screams against the other. They’re like an arguing couple. How does this relate to success and help you achieve the goals you’ve been holding back on? Well “attempting” anything without the work and dedication needed to nurture the process of mastery is like trying to play piano with two hands. You will not get it done. However, my piano teacher, Jermey, read music all the time, and could play as if performing a difficult piece took no more energy than breathing. Right before he died, I reached a high level of success with the piano as well, and it did not come from randomness or wishing to become better. No, it took practice and work. We all know about the laws of common sense around working hard and success, but it was more than just practice and work that got me to where I was. Jeremy taught me how a master practice; how an expert goes about perfecting their craft. You see, when you play piano you are not playing with two hands. You’re making both of your hands obey their rhythm under a single beat. Instead of a couple arguing angrily against each other, you have them both agree to a single and simple beat. 1 & 2 & 3 & 4 &. Jermey would make me repeat boring, evenly spaced beats and count them out loud. Then I would play the right hand music as slow as possible, and I mean slow. It was like a snail taking vacation and every time it was ridiculous. I was stuck for almost 60 minutes counting, “One and Two and Three and Four and” while dragging through the musical piece. After I mastered one hand he would make me practice the left hand with the same routine, “One and Two and Three and Four and”. Every note had to land in a specific spot, or else he would make me start over and play it SLOWER and correctly ten times until I was ready to play it faster. Eventually, however, when I went back home and continued my practice I become better and better to point where playing was natural. What my piano teacher taught me was that success comes through repetition and consistency. In the beginning stages of the song, what I played sounded nothing like the finished product. Much like how you are today, you may not be able to envision yourself achieving what you deserve, but trust me, it is possible. It takes a faithful resilience and a dedication so strong to what you desire that you will become what you do. If you practice anything enough times you will become it. I never let my teacher die in vain and I take his lessons as a testimony for other areas of my life and you should to. Remember the things you are good and imagine the work and effort it took for you to get there. You already have the blueprint inside of you. No it’s time to take action and get it done.

Leave a Reply

